Skip to content Skip to left sidebar Skip to right sidebar Skip to footer

Town Planning

Town Planning 044 801 9477
Consultation hours Town Planners: weekdays 7.45am-12.30pm pre-booked appointments for afternoons.
(During Covid-19 public consultation is by appointment only, preferably via electronic means โ€“ please contact relevant official, as listed below, to make an appointment.)

See bottom of page for detailed phone list.

Click for George Municipality Zoning Scheme Map and GIS Public Viewer.
Click for Land Use Submissions, Land Use Tribunal and Land Use Bylaw Decisions.
Click for Instructions for Online Land Use Applications.
Click for Municipal Spatial Development Framework and Local Spatial Development Frameworks.
Click for Bylaws pertaining to Town Planning.
Click for Policies and Guidelines pertaining to Town Planning.


The department has launched an internet-based land use application system to enable the electronic submission and processing of land use applications.

The necessary documents and detailed instructions are available here. Applications and documents relating thereto can be submitted and distributed via email (to and applicants will receive SMSs on the progress made on their applications.

No on-paper registered mail notices will be delivered to surrounding neighbours during the Covid-19 lockdown period, but the owner is required to put up a site notice on the street boundary of his/her property that must be clearly visible to anyone passing.

Applications that have a broader impact still require to be advertised in the print edition of Die Burger (Southern Cape) and in the print and online editions of the George Herald.

Notices to commenting bodies and state departments will be sent via email.

Neighbours of the land affected by an application who do not have access to email can arrange with the following designated officials to submit comments and objections via WhatsApp or SMS.

Erven ending with an even number: Primrose Nako ( or 044 801 9416)
Erven ending with an odd number : Marissa Arries ( or 044 801 9473)
Farms or portions of farms: Marina Welman ( or 044 801 9171)

All applications will be published on the George Municipality website and notices will contain electronic links for access to relevant documents but must also be available to the public from the applicant.

For any queries or more information on the above please contact 044 801 9477 or email or

Town Planning Complaints


Land Use Management
Acting Director Planning and Development: Delia Power 044 801 9476
Chief Town Planner: Clinton Peterson 044 801 9191
Senior Town Planner: Jeanne Fourie 044 801 9138
Town Planner: Ilanรจ Huyser 044 801 9550
Senior Land-Use Regulator (Tribunal): Keith Meyer 044 801 9435
Land-Use Regulator (Even Erf Numbers): Primrose Nako 044 801 9416
Land-Use Regulator (Odd Erf Numbers): Marisa Arries 044 801 9473
Land-Use Regulator (Farm Numbers): Marina Welman 044 801 9171
Dedicated email address for Land Use Submissions:

Property Transfer Certificates: Marina Welman
Zoning Certificates: Lorraine Malangeni
Zoning Rectifications: Jeanne Fourie
Ilane Huyser
Illegal Land Use Complaints: Robin Hector
Mawethu Bonga
Neighbouring property owner address details: Marisa Arriesย

Spatial Planning, GIS and Environmental Management
Principal Technician GIS: Corlize Bester 044 801 9117
Environmental Permits including OSCA: Priscilla Burgoyne